学院简介

image

成立背景

随着中国的综合国力不断增强,中国在国际事务上的影响力日渐提高,汉语的重要性亦逐步提升,学习汉语在不少国家已形成一股热潮。有些人出于对中国语言和文化的兴趣而学习汉语,有些人则视汉语为一项谋生技能而学习。为了创造比较优良的学习条件,为各国汉语学习者提供方便,2002年起,中国政府通过国家汉语国际推广领导小组办公室(汉办)与各国的著名学府及专业机构合作,在有需求的地区,合作建设以开展汉语教学、推广中国文化为活动内容的“孔子学院”,并在北京设立“孔子学院总部”,集中管理世界各地的孔子学院,提供与日俱增的支持和服务。2020年,经多位孔院院长和中外合作院校校长在内的社会各界人士纷纷呼吁中国成立专业化的基金会运作孔院,一些教育文化类企业、社会组织,如北京大学、复旦大学、北京语言大学等自发联合起来成立“中国国际中文教育基金会”,以国际化、专业化、民间化的方式承担运行服务全球孔院的责任。

2005年,首间孔子学院成立,到目前为止,全球已设立超过519所孔子学院,分布于162个国家及地区。

香港孔子学院由汉办授权予香港理工大学(理大)承办,于2006年正式开幕,成为中国境内第一所与外国孔子学院同类的孔子学院,也是香港唯一的一所孔子学院。在香港独特的历史背景和社会状况下,香港孔子学院致力为本地居民提供学习汉语及中国历史和传统文化的机会。

2013年,汉办与理大达成新的协议,把香港孔子学院纳入为理大单位,并从2014年开始置于理大人文学院之下。

宗旨

立足香港,面向国际,推广汉语应用,弘扬中国文化,支持国家文化建设,促进国际汉学研究。

目的及愿景

支持国家「发展中国与外国的友好关系,促进世界多元文化发展」的文化建设努力,为不同国籍、种族、性别、年龄、行业人士提供学习汉语,认识中国国情及历史文化、风俗、社会潮流的机会,让中国文化更为世界所认识,当代中国情况更为世界所了解。

结合香港的独特历史背景和社会情况,为本地学生及社会人士增加其对中国历史与传统文化以及当代发展之认识与理解。

利用香港华洋荟萃的人才优势,在中国研究的学术及教学上沟通中外,拓展国际汉学研究,并成为世界青年汉学家的研修基地。

About CIHK

image

Background

As its comprehensive national strength continuously increases, China’s influence in international affairs and the importance of the Chinese language become increasingly notable. Learning Chinese has become increasingly popular. While some learn it for their interest in the Chinese language and culture, some see learning Chinese as a tool for business. In order to create conditions conducive to learning and facilitate the learning of Chinese overseas, the Chinese government started collaboration with renowned institutions and professional organisations worldwide through the Office of Chinese Language Council International (HANBAN) and established Confucius Institutes to offer Chinese classes and to promote Chinese culture. Confucius Institute Headquarters is set up in Beijing to centrally manage Confucius Institutes around the world and provide ever-increasing support and services. In 2020, after receiving a great number of calls from Directors of Confucius Institutes and presidents of Sino-foreign cooperative colleges and universities to set up a professional foundation to operate the Confucius Institutes, some educational and cultural enterprises and social organizations, such as Peking University, Fudan University and Beijing Language and Culture University, spontaneously joined hands to establish the Chinese International Education Foundation, taking the responsibility of operating and serving the global Confucius Institutes in more international, professional and popular ways.

Since the establishment of the first Confucius Institute in 2005, the number of Institutes around the world has grown to 519, spreading over 162 countries and regions.

Under the auspices of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) and HANBAN, the Confucius Institute of Hong Kong (CIHK) was inaugurated in 2006, dedicated to the promotion of Chinese language and culture as well as the facilitation of cultural exchanges between China and the world. As the first Confucius Institute in China and the only one of its kind in Hong Kong, CIHK addresses Hong Kong’s unique historical background and socio-economic conditions and provides various types of activities and programmes for local residents to broaden and deepen their understanding of Chinese history and traditional culture as well as that of contemporary China.

In 2013 HANBAN and PolyU reached an agreement to restructure CIHK as a unit of the University so that the PolyU community could directly benefit from the Institute’s programmes and activities. Beginning 2014 the Institute is further placed under PolyU’s Faculty of Humanities.

Mission

To support China’s cultural construction, enhance local education of Chinese language and culture, promote international understanding of Chinese language and culture, and cultivate international scholarship in Chinese studies.

Aims and Vision

Supporting China’s endeavour to “build friendly relationship with foreign countries and promote multi-cultural development in the world”, the Confucius Institute of Hong Kong aims to help the world better know Chinese culture and understand present-day China by offering people of all nationalities, ethnicities, sexes, ages, and professions opportunities to learn Chinese language, Chinese history, and aspects of Chinese fine culture, and be informed of modern Chinese thinking, custom and social trends.

Addressing Hong Kong’s unique historical background and social conditions, CIHK aims to also act as a source of help to local students and citizens for their better understanding of Chinese history and traditional culture as well as development in contemporary China.

Leveraging Hong Kong’s being a hub of international talents, CIHK aims to link Chinese and foreign academia in the advancement of scholarship and pedagogy in the field of China study and aspires to become an international centre for young scholars of sinology.