院長的話

物換星移,逝者如斯,香港孔子學院已經度過了十一載春秋。在孔子學院總部/漢辦和香港理工大學(理大)的合力支持下,在前院長朱鴻林教授的出色領導下,香港孔子學院辦出了自己的特色,走出了自己的道路。根據香港獨特的歷史背景和社會情況,香港孔子學院定位為「研究型孔子學院」,著力打造學院在推廣中國文化和學術研究的獨特地位,主要從三個層次進行開拓:1)融合中西學術資源以培養青年漢學家;2)舉辦學術研討會、高端演講系列、實施研究計畫等;3)舉辦通識課程、文化證書等,向廣大學生及社會人士介紹推廣中國文化和學術。通過設計和舉辦眾多豐富多彩而成效卓著的活動,香港孔子學院已經在弘揚中國語言文化、拓展國際漢學研究及培養青年漢學家等方面獲得了可觀的成績。

在過去的2017年,香港孔子學院繼續舉辦了不同主題的活動項目,包括為理大學生和國際學生開辦的中國語言文化課程,由國內外傑出學者主講的中國歷史文化及宗教講座,中國歷史文化專家學者講座,港澳珠三角地區研究生中國歷史文化研修班,對外漢語教學論壇,特別為理大師生而設的文化遺產考察,以公眾為目標參與者的中國文化藝術節目,等等。此外,學院還舉辦了第二屆「宗族祠堂與祖先祭祀學術研討會」,香港潮州藝術家與溫州藝術家的文藝交流研討會,及「中國歷史文化新研與普及叢書」研撰計劃研討會 。透過這些特色顯著且可持續性高的項目,參與者更加深入地認識中國悠久的歷史文化、精深的思想學術、優雅的語言文字及當代的社會和國情,並為發展中國歷史文化的學術研究作出一定貢獻。

在2018年,除了繼續舉辦上述各項教學、講座系列、考察及文化藝術活動外,我們還計畫舉辦四個學術研討會。其一為第二屆「中國歷史文化新研與普及叢書」研撰計劃研討會;其二為「社會責任和個體價值:古典儒學的現代啟示研討會」;其三為「中國宗教研究青年學者國際論壇」;其四為「孔子學院研究及共同發展研討會」。各項活動的具體內容,請參閱本《簡介》的後面部份。這些活動和研討會將繼續以「研究型孔子學院」為主要方向,發揮香港孔子學院的特色和優勢,融合中西資源,發展國際漢學。

值此辭舊迎新、生生相續之際,我們誠摰地感謝多年來幫助和參與我們活動的各方人士,並希望在新的一年繼續得到大家的支持。讓我們攜手努力,為弘揚中華文化和學術作出新的貢獻。

Message from the director

The Confucius Institute of Hong Kong (CIHK) has tided over eleven years. With the support from the Confucius Institute Headquarters/Hanban and the Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU), and under the excellent leadership of the former Director, Professor Chu Hung-lam, CIHK has developed its own unique feature and walked out its own path. According to Hong Kong’s particular historical background and social situation, CIHK has positioned itself as a “research-oriented Confucius Institute” ,with special focus on promoting Chinese culture and scholarship in three aspects: 1) combining both Chinese and Western resources to foster young sinologists; 2) organizing academic conferences, high level lecture series, and conducting research projects; 3) designing and offering general education courses and cultural education diplomas, in order to introduce and promote Chinese culture and scholarship to students and local people. Through designing and holding varied and efficient activities, CIHK has achieved remarkably in promoting Chinese language and culture, developing academic research in sinology, and academic exchange among young sinologists.

As in previous years, in 2017 we have successfully held various cultural education and dissemination activities to meet the interests of different participants, including courses of Chinese language and culture for PolyU and international students, lectures on Chinese culture and religion by distinguished scholars, specialist lectures on Chinese history and culture, forums for teaching Chinese as a foreign language, study tours to historical sites for PolyU staff and students, and Chinese culture and arts appreciation sessions for the general public. We also presented a series of postgraduate seminars on Chinese history and culture for students from universities in Hong Kong, Macau and the Pearl River Delta area. We held the second research conference on Chinese ancestor halls and veneration rites, a symposium of various forms of Chinese arts presented by Hong Kong artists of Chiu-chow origin and artists from Wenzhou for sharing and exchange, as well as a workshop on the book project “Series of New and Popular Studies of Chinese History and Culture” .Through these activities, the participants had forged understanding more deeply in Chinese history, culture, thought, scholarship, language, writing, and contemporary social and national situations, and together contributed to the development of Chinese historical and cultural studies.

In 2018, apart from continuing all these teaching programmes, lecture and seminar series, cultural tours, and artistic activities, we plan to hold four conferences and workshops. The first is the 2nd Workshop of the Book Project “Series of New and Popular Studies of Chinese History and Culture”; the second is Social Responsibility and Individual Values: International Conference on the Modern Implications of Classical Confucianism; the third is International Young Scholars Forum on Chinese Religious Studies; and the fourth is Seminar on Research and Co-development of Confucius Institutes. More information on these programmes and activities can be found in this booklet. CIHK will continue its research-oriented mission and endeavour in combining Chinese and Western resources to promote international sinology in all these events in the coming year.

We wish to express our heartfelt gratitude to all those who have supported and participated in our activities and hope to have your support in the coming new year. Let us work together to make new contributions to the promotion of Chinese culture and scholarship.